The Irish in the southern African region have offered to help



Concerned Irish citizens in the southern African region are encouraged to contact the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) and its network of embassies, the DFA said.

He indicated that he remains available to provide consular assistance to Irish citizens upon request and as needed.

There are more than 35,000 Irish citizens based in South Africa, the DFA has confirmed.

The majority of these people are dual nationals and long-term residents of South Africa.

The size of the Irish community in neighboring countries is much smaller, with the estimated number of Irish traveling to these countries being “relatively small” compared to South Africa.

Trade routes from South Africa and the region remain open, but heavily trafficked, the DFA said.

The government yesterday advised people not to travel to seven southern African countries except “absolutely necessary” as a precaution against a new variant of Covid-19, Omicron.

The countries are Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Irish citizens in South Africa requiring consular assistance are advised to contact the Irish Embassy in Pretoria directly by sending an email to

For those from other countries in the region, embassy details can be found here.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan speaking at his party’s national convention (Image: Rolling News)

The government will help the Irish in the southern Africa region return home, said Green Party leader Eamon Ryan.

“We are leaving no one behind,” Minister Ryan said at his party’s national conference.

He added that he expects “the numbers to be low” due to travel limitations due to Covid-19.



Comments are closed.